Then and now

The sun was piercing its way

Into the irritated lives of millions that day,

My grandmother sat behind me oiling my hair,

Which she perceived to be the ultimate in hair care.

Patiently parting segments of my knotted mane,

Smiling at the pitiful heat stricken passerby’s on the lane,

She decided to start a debate.

 

She told me how much times have changed,

How she would (and still) follow a routine, but my life seems so deranged.

She wakes up at dawn,

And that’s when I go to bed, with a yawn.

I argued that I was on a holiday and this was my well deserved rest,

She told me not to take offence, she was telling me for my best.

 

But I wouldn’t give up so easily, and so I said,

“My generation is awesome. We have X-boxes, Play Stations, iPods and iPads,

In all colours from Violet to Red.”

She replied simply, “We had hopscotch and kabaddi”, with a grin,

And then she asked me to hand over the hair pin.

 

That’s point one to grandma, none to me,

I can’t simply let this be.

 

I held the hairpin back, interested to keep this discussion going,

Racking my brain for something to keep my generation from losing.

When I did think of something, I handed her the hairpin,

“There are the medical advances and milestones in science”, I said.

“You obviously didn’t have all that..”

She secured the hairpin tightly over my head.

I turned to look at her wrinkled face,

Wondering if I’d be as beautiful as her, at that age.

Happy, I pulled myself off the ground and sat beside her,

Satisfied with my retort and guaranteed that victory was near.

“But still the life style then was better than the lifestyle now.

We were active and kept healthy and how!

All this science has made you lazy, and made your definition of fun, hazy.”

 

That’s point two to grandma, and none to me,

I can’t simply let this be.

 

I said, “Explain the internet, the ultimate tool,

How it has everything we need- that’s pretty cool!

How I can read the news, watch a movie, chat with friends,

Listen to music, catch up with the latest trends.

I can even learn how to cook, sew or sing.

I can learn to do anything!”

 

She told me how she used to read the news on a paper,

How much fun watching movies in the cinemas were,

The excitement of receiving letters from the people she loved,

And listening to music on her tape recorder, loud.

My grandmum is a perfect cook, who could sing and sew,

I knew I was losing this one too.

 

That’s point three to grandma and none to me,

I might have to let this be.

 

She looked at me with pity, and smiled.

“When it comes to arguing, you must know I’m your grandmum, my child.”

And then she winked and whispered in my ear,

“If it wasn’t for your lovely generation, you wouldn’t be here.”

Leave a Reply

