Day 6- Poetry Challenge

Day 6- Write a poem of any length incorporating every word from your latest Facebook status.

Sorry, I have been MIA for the last couple of days. Sunday, Vinod and me spent the entire day out of the house leaving no time for poetry writing. I have absolutely no excuses for the rest of the days (this is just who I am).

As for today’s challenge, do you even honestly remember the last time you posted a status update on Facebook?! Who does that any more? 

So scrolling back, for what seemed like an eternity, I found my last status update! 

Untitled

If you’re wondering who Stuart is, he was my first pet and the first animal I have ever loved. He passed away a few months back and I miss him most of the time. 

16508705_1226709437378523_2175545704677069356_n.jpg

 

Stuart Little

You fit into the palm of my hand, but held a much larger space in my heart, 

For a little hamster, we felt you were so very smart. 

Smuggling all of the food you could find into your treasure trove of yums, 

Stuffing your face- how chubby your cheek becomes! 

I watched ‘Fantastic Beasts and where to find them’ not so long ago, 

And all I could think of was you, putting on quite the show, 

Like Newt Scamander and his little niffler who loves all things shiny, 

Are you and me. It feels like just yesterday you were in my hands- so tiny. 

And how you survived that long weary journey from Manipal to Bangalore

On the bus in your cage, biting your way through the bag until it finally tore, 

And the sense of relief once were released, free to roam, 

You made our first new house a home. 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

